Date ArticleType

Christine Goertz, D.C., Appointed Chair of PCORI Board

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) announced the appointment of Christine Goertz, DC, PhD, as the next Chairperson of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) Board of Governors, and the appointment of Sharon Levine, MD, as the next Vice Chairperson.
Goertz, has been a member of PCORI’s Board since 2010 and its Vice Chairperson since September 2018. Goertz’s and Levine’s appointment are three-year terms ending September 2022.
Goertz is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Spine Institute for Quality. As of October, she will begin new positions as Professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Duke University Medical Center and Director of System Development and Coordination for Spine Health at Duke Health. Her 25-year research career has focused on working with multidisciplinary teams to design and implement clinical trials and health-services research studies designed to increase knowledge about the effectiveness, cost and risks associated with nonpharmacological approaches for pain management.
The diverse membership of PCORI’s Board is appointed by the Comptroller General of the United States and represents a broad range of perspectives and collective expertise in clinical health sciences research.  Previously, she served for 11 years as vice chancellor of research and health policy at Palmer College of Chiropractic and as a program official at the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health at the National Institutes of Health.
The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) said that it is pleased that ACA Senior Scientific Advisor Christine Goertz, DC, PhD, has been appointed.  They note that PCORI was established in 2010 as part of the Affordable Care Act to fund research to help patients, caregivers, and their health practitioners make evidence-based, patient-centered healthcare decisions. Non-drug treatment for pain is among PCORI’s top research priorities. The board is made up of 21 representatives of the patient, general consumer, clinical, insurance, research, employer, industry, policy and other healthcare sectors. 

No form settings found. Please configure it.